Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Memorial Conclave for Creating a Livable Planet (KLP) was constituted in the year 2016 on the first anniversary of the passage of Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam. The primary aim of the conclave is to establish a continuation of Dr. Kalam’s last lecture on Creating Livable Planet Earth, in which he was addressing second-year students of the B-school at IIM Shillong on the topic “Creating Livable Planet Earth”. This conclave has been a horizontal ground of young ideas, youth criticism and youth action leading into a charter for global governance to create a livable planet Earth.

In the past three editions of this conclave, various luminary speakers and thinkers have enlightened the audience with their thoughts and ideas for a better world and a stronger nation. These speakers include Shri Ram Naik (Hon’ble Governor of Uttar Pradesh), Nobel Laureate Shri Kailash Satyarthi, Param Veer Chakra Awardee Yoginder Singh Yadav, Mahaswami Sri Sri Nirmalanandanathanji of Adi Chunchunagiri Math, Shri Rajiv Kumar (Hon’ble Vice Chairman of NITI Aayog). The conclave is attended by young delegates who are handpicked from all over the country for their exemplary work in the nation’s service and social cause.

The theme of the conclave is ‘Vision 2020’ and ‘Sustainable Happiness for New India’ which embodies how to keep the planet livable and make it a happy place, which Dr. Kalam talked about in his final lecture. The Conclave will also feature Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Livable Planet Award to be presented to selected individuals and institutions for their exemplary work for the nation and society. Over the years, various change makers have been recognized and awarded across a variety of domains.


KLP 2018

The third edition of Kalam Livable Planet Conclave was held from 24th to 27th July 2018. Dr. Rajiv Kumar (Hon’ble Vice Chairman of NITI Aayog) was the Chief Guest for the event and Guests of Honour were Shri Desh Deepak Verma (Secretary General, Rajya Sabha) and Smt. Meenakshi Lekhi (Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha) for the Valedictory session of the event. The Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Memorial Award for Creating a Livable Planet Earth was presented to Deendayal Research Institute for their contribution in sustainable rural development.


KLP 2017

The second edition of the Kalam Livable Planet Earth Conclave was held in Lucknow on July 27, 2017. Some of the awardees and guests were His Holiness Jagadguru Sri Sri Sri Dr. Nirmalanandanath Swamiji (Head, Adichunchanagari Math), Shri Anand Kumar (Founder, Super 30), Shri Jayant Sahasrabuddhe (National Organizing Secretary, Vijnana Bharati) and Shri Pankaj Singh (Youth Icon and Member of Legislative Assembly, Noida).


KLP 2016

The Centre organized the Kalam International Youth Conclave on Livable Planet in Lucknow on 26-27 July 2016. The guests and awardees included Shri Ram Naik (Honorable Governor, Uttar Pradesh), Shri Akhilesh Yadav (Former Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh), Nobel Laureate Dr. Kailash Satyarthi, Ms. Dia Mirza (Actress and Environmental Activist), Mr. Javagal Srinath (Former Cricketer), Mr. Arunachalam Muruganantham (Padman of India), Mr. Anshu Gupta (Founder, Goonj), Dr. S.Y. Quraishi (Former Chief Election Commissioner of India) and Padma Bhushan Dr. S.B. Mujumdar (Founder and President of the Symbiosis Society). Over 300 young delegates selected from many different countries participated in the conclave.


Start typing and press Enter to search